Shooting my first live shot!

I’m not a morning person at all. So since I have to participate in mornings to go to work, I do whatever I can to sleep in as late as possible. I’ve realized that taking showers at night will let me sleep in longer in the morning. Only problem? My asymmetrical haircut has to be dried with the hair dryer and paddle brushed just right…otherwise my hair is sticking out in all directions.

Well this morning was one of those mornings that I woke up and pieces of my hair were sticking in all kinds of directions. I thought to myself as I pinned my bangs back, “oh well, I just won’t shoot a stand up today.” Well that really wasn’t the solution. I got to work and at our morning assignment meeting I was told I would be doing my first live shot today. Now, I’ve worked at KNOE for over a month now and have looked cute and polished plenty of days, but the one day I basically roll out of bed and go to work is the day I was told I would be doing my first live shot. Great.

Well don’t get me wrong, I was over the moon excited to be given the opportunity. But I’m not going to lie, the first thing I thought of was, “what am I going to do with my hair?!” So I went and shot my package about World Aids Day and came back to the station with plenty of time to spare. I was sitting at my edit bay painstakingly watching my footage ingest into the computer when a light bulb went off. (our tapes import in real time because we use 1980’s equipment.) Well the light bulb told me, why wait 33 minutes for the video to import–when I could be fixing my hair!

So I used my time wisely and grabbed my car and swung by my apartment (which is 3 mintues away) and curled my hair. I made it back to the station just as my video was done importing. PROBLEM SOLVED!!

So going live was fun, nerve wracking, and confusing. Luckily I had one of our photographers, Tubby with me. He is one of those people at work that is just a wealth of knowledge. He was patient and explained exactly what I would be doing. The first live shot for the 5pm show was a bit rough because I was VERY confused about when to start my VO and blah blah blah…whatever I can’t make excuses. I’m a newbie, I just am inexperienced. The 6pm show went a bit smoother, but during my tag I forgot the address of the clinic and looked down at my script and could not find the address on my script for the life of me. It felt like hours were passing before I finally looked up at the camera again. But in actually it was maybe 2 seconds, but still it was a panicky moment for me.

Overall, it was a  fun experience and I can only imagine that the more live shots I do, the easier and more natural they will become for me.

Here is the video of my first live shot today!

Leave a Reply

