A very Louisiana experience: Watching people eat crawfish

When I transplanted to the great state of Louisiana only 8 short months ago, I didn’t know anything at all about it. As I’ve gotten the pleasure of getting to know it better, I’ve realized it is very unique.

Now whenever I look around, I notice things that make me say, “That’s so Louisiana!” Examples: Fleur de Lis symbols, bayous, spanish moss, beignets, bald cypress growing out of swamps, and crawfish.

At the Entergy dinner with coworkers

I’ve heard about what a cultural thing Crawfish boils are, but I’ve never actually seen people eating them. I’ve smelled the spicy smell of it wafting through the air as I’ve driven passed those type of cookouts, but that’s about it. That all changed this past Thursday! The electric company, Entergy, held its annual bbq and crawfish boil for the media in North East Louisiana a few days ago. It was great! People from the local newspapers and tv stations all got to get together and mingle for free food and drinks.

This was also the first time I was exposed to crawfish. I have been a vegetarian for the past 9 years, so I don’t consume anything that used to have a brain, a face, or a mom…so I didn’t eat the crawfish, but I sure had a curious time watching others. It is so interesting to me that each person got a box FULL of little bug looking things that still had their eyeballs and there were pieces of potatoes and corn thrown in the box for good measure.

Watching Clay eat Crawfish

Many of my colleagues are from out-of-state and we watched with amazement as Louisiana natives, ripped off the heads and peeled apart the crawfish and sucked out the meat. Barbaric looking, but it was explained to me that it is very much a social cultural thing in the state to eat it. Good morning Arklamiss anchor April Dovorany (from WI) and I watched in amazement as weather guy Clay Ostarly (from NOLA) expertly peeled and ate a full box in a matter of minutes. Overall, it was a neat experience to get to partake in the culture by watching others eat what is such a cultural staple in the bayou state.

Leave a Reply

