My love of politics

Shaking hands with Louisiana Secretary of State Tom Schedler.

I love politics. I’m not sure why, but ever since the 6th grade when my civics teacher explained the importance of the 2000 election between Bush vs. Gore, I was enthralled in the political process. Election day of the year 2000, I dragged both my parents to the voting booth, where they voted for the first time in nearly 20 years. They were hesitant at first when their 11-year-old daughter pushed them to register to vote telling me, “My vote doesn’t matter.” But then of course, if you remember history correctly, the 2000 election was a great example of how important voting is! I’m not sure if that first experience solidified my love of politics, but something clicked that year and I was hooked.

First time voting in a presidential election in 2008

I watch political debates like they are sporting events. Presidential election season is like the super bowl for me. So it’s no surprise to me that I love covering politics as a journalist. When the primaries rolled around and Rick Santorum and Newt Gingrich came to Monroe, I was so excited out of my mind to be able to interview them!

Unfortunately, last week I missed watching part of the RNC convention speeches live because of my busy hours covering Hurricane Isaac. But this week, I’ve been keeping up with the DNC convention and I envy the reporters who are reporting from the floor. I did get to do a little localized story about the conventions, which is better than nothing!

Here it is, I shot it with our fancy new HD cameras!

NELA locals help out at RNC & DNC conventions from Victoria Shirley Productions on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

