My one year KNOE anniversary

Feeling very Louisiana in a saints shirt!

Time flies! The last week of October was my one year KNOE anniversary. It was one year ago that I packed what material possessions would fit in my car, said goodbye to my family and friends and hit the open road. I was headed to a state I had only briefly visited for my interview and a state where I didn’t know a soul. I had a very uncertain future ahead of me, it probably was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done. But it was the only way to get started in my dream career field and I was going to do anything. Fast forward to a year later, I feel like I’m a Louisianian. I have fallen head over heels for the Bayou state and love my job. It’s amazing how much can happen in a year!

And yet….It’s crazy how it feels as if no time has passed but everything at KNOE has changed dramatically in just 12 months. I’m surrounded by different faces and leadership than I started with and somehow I’ve become one of the most “experienced” in the newsroom. I placed quotations around experienced  because I wouldn’t consider a year to really make me experienced, it just seems that way when faces in the newsroom change so quickly.

Throughout the past year I’ve had all kinds of experiences here at KNOE, some good and bad but always a learning and growing adventures. I’ve met hundreds of people on a daily basis and expanded my horizons far and wide. Sometimes it’s worth taking a risk and moving to Louisiana a year ago, was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. For all you aspiring broadcast journalists, you miss 100% of the chances you never take. Unless you are from a small market or your college was in a small market, you have to be willing to leave your safety net of friends, family, everything familiar and leave. With only a few people who are lucky exceptions, if you aren’t willing to drop everything and move to a far away strange place.. where you don’t know anyone to get your feet wet, you probably won’t make it in this field.

Leave a Reply

