I’m not a scientist, I just play one on TV

Gathering samples of water

Gathering samples of water

Just kidding, I don’t play one on TV, but I felt like I was!

One of the cool parts of being a journalist, is having the constant opportunity to learn something new everyday. Yesterday I found myself in a Department of Health Lab, the lab manager was walking me through the processes of testing drinking water. I had no idea drinking water was routinely tested once a month to make sure it is safe to drink.

I stumbled across the story on Monday of a trailer park that hadn’t had water for three days. The residents were spending their memorial day, hot, thirsty, and frustrated that they couldn’t get answers from their management as to why they had no water. I went out there and talked to them and tried myself to get them answers. Well I had to go all the way to the Department of Health and Hospitals to get any answers and they informed me, that trailer park had been under investigation for some time now for several water violations.

To make a long story short, after neighbors expressed their concern to me about the quality of their drinking water, I decided to do my own investigation to see if their water was safe. I felt like a scientist-detective!

Here is my story:

Leave a Reply

