Discovering Pittsburgh

971674_4984727907237_107770757_n

IMG_8211

I had the opportunity to visit my family for the 4th of July holiday! Instead of going home to the Washington DC area, my family decided to meet up in Pittsburgh, Pa., where my sister recently moved with her family. I’ve never really heard very much about the city, so I didn’t have any expectations. We arrived at night so I didn’t get to see much of the city, but when the sun rose, I was blown away. What a beautiful city! So many bridges and mountains! My favorite color is yellow and the fact that the main bridges connecting the city are painted yellow, instantly made me a fan.

Double decker tour bus

Double decker tour bus

We only had two full days in the city, so we tried to do as much as we could. My favorite was a double-decker history tour that we rode through the city and got to see everything it had to offer. But it was such a tease, because there is so much to do and we didn’t have the time to do it. I have to go back and visit!

I love cities with character and uniqueness and Pittsburgh certainly has both. We had the opportunity to ride a tram up to the top of Mt. Washington, go to the Strip district which is an old revitalized warehouse district, and hang out at a water park! My sister lives at the top of a cliff, so on the 4th of July we were able to enjoy three different fireworks shows from the city down below, while waving our own sparklers on her deck. How fun!

My super cute nephew!

My super cute nephew!

It was wonderful seeing my family. I don’t think I  realize how hard it is living a thousand miles away from my family until I get to visit with them again. I always leave them with a heavy heart. It’s especially tough because my little nephew is a nearly two years old and is constantly changing. Each time I visit, he is a new baby, always learning and growing. While it makes me incredibly sad to be so far away from them, I am grateful that since moving to Louisiana, I’ve been able to see them at least twice a year. Plus technology allows me to Skype, text, and be in constant contact with them.

Now I’ll just count down the days until I can see them again! Hopefully next time they can come here to my adoptive state of Louisiana! While Shreveport-Bossier is no Pittsburgh, I do love my new cities so much and I can’t want to show them off to my family.  I have to keep talking it up, so next time we all meet, maybe they’ll come here!

Leave a Reply

