KSLA one year anniversary

10155225_460575630741974_1153432142_n

Fill-in anchoring with Clay

I’ve fallen off of the blogging wagon again, it’s been almost 3 months since I last posted! That’s bad. Sorry to anybody who ever comes across this blog for the lack of updates.

10013950_462048143928056_138940046_n

My first station swag!

On March 21, I reached my one year anniversary at KSLA News 12! It’s exciting, but also scary to know how fast time flies. I’ve had a great year in this area. I feel very comfortable in the Shreveport-Bossier area, more so than I did living in North East Louisiana, it might have something to do with the fact that I grew up near a big city. Not that Shreveport-Bossier is anywhere near the size of Washington D.C, but it certainly is closer in terms of size compared to Monroe.

Cinco De Mayo festival

Cinco De Mayo festival

I love that it seems like every weekend there is some kind of festival or event to enjoy. There is certainly a sense of community here, especially in the South Bossier area where I now live.

I’ve had great opportunities to cover a wide range of stories within the last year, some good, some bad. I also received a new challenge a few months ago when I was assigned the Bossier beat. I love it, I love being able to focus my attention and efforts on one parish.

Within the last year, my personal life obviously has been great because I got engaged in December to my soul mate and best friend. We’ve been busy since December planning our September wedding. We each share only one day off together, so it seems every week we dedicate that day to planning our wedding, meeting with vendors, etc. It’s been a neat experience, it’s also revealed to me how well my fiance and I work together as a team.

One of our engagement photos!

There is still much to be done, I still need to find my dress (eek!), buy my fiance’s ring, pick between two caterers, meet with the flower lady, buy invitations, find a string quartet (that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg), and put a deposit down for the rental company to put leg drapes and bistro lights in our tent. That is probably only 10% of what is left to do, but I won’t bog you down with details.

I fly home to Virginia for my bridal shower in two weeks, I’m beyond excited. Needless to say, I’ve had a great year professionally and personally. Here’s to hoping the next year is just as great, if not greater!

Leave a Reply

