Celebrating my 4 year KSLA anniversary

17202970_1027681574031374_4009411952359602445_n

Four years ago, I walked through the doors of KSLA as a wide eyed newbie reporter, fresh off my first ever job in the business. I remember being surprised at how much of a learning curve there was of jumping from market 137 to 82. I even wrote a whole blog post about it.

But after a couple of months, working in a faster paced environment with more demands became the norm for me and all was well. I made great friends here in Shreveport and watched those friends move on to bigger markets or other opportunities in the business. Instead of leaving after two years, I was given new ways and opportunities to grow as a journalist here so I resigned a one year contract in 2015 and another one in 2016.

543820_294592664006939_986999460_n

One of my first live shots at KSLA circa 2013.

I started off in 2013 as the weekend reporter and eventually became the Sunday morning fill-in anchor. After a while in 2014, I was given the opportunity to take on the Bossier beat (the only beat reporter on staff), then later that year was officially given the Sunday morning anchor position and regular weekend evening fill-in position. But the best opportunity of all came last June in 2016 as I signed a new contract as the station’s first lead full time investigator in more than a decade. I was given the responsibility and honor of helping to launch our I-Team. I was ecstatic to spearhead that project. I’m all about trail blazing! After all, in college when I saw the school didn’t have a TV station or video news program, I did not hesitate to make CNU TV a reality, of course with the help of some great friends.

iteam

I-Team Office

Fastforward from thinking about college back to 2016, I picked out an equipment storage room and decided it would be the new I-Team office. Management was supportive and helped me turn what used to be a “special projects” edit bay several decades ago – turned closet – back into an edit bay/office. I’ve also had the opportunity to be a sort of “team leader” and serve as a resource for the other I-Team members and a liaison between the team and management. I welcome the opportunity to request public records on their behalf and pull court documents to become a more experienced investigative reporter.

I’ve always considered being an investigative reporter as my dream job. I’m excited that I’ve had some time to do it. It is always great to work for an employer that allows you to continually be challenged and takes you up on your ideas. It’s been a great 4 years!

Leave a Reply

